UIC Sustainability Awards

Appraisal of the Jury for the UIC Sustainability Awards 2010

The aim of the UIC Sustainability Awards is to give visibility to and reward excellence, ground breaking projects and the big efforts made within the rail sector to continuously improve its sustainability performance.

The Awards was introduced at the 10th anniversary of the UIC Sustainability Conference in September 2008 in London and this is second time the UIC Sustainability Awards will award projects for their contribution towards more sustainable railways. Nearly 30 high-level papers from all over the world have been competing for this second round of the UIC Sustainability Awards, and they have been giving the international independent Jury a hard challenge. Four papers have been awarded with the UIC Sustainability Awards.

The members of the Jury of the UIC Sustainability Awards 2010 have been: Martina Otto, Head of Policy Unit Energy Branch, United Nations Environment Programme Peder Jensen, Acting Head of Air and Climate Change Programme Head of Energy and Transport Group, European Environment Agency

Holger Dalkmann, Programme Director Sustainable Transport and Climate Change, Transport Research Laboratory (TRL)

Third Prize

About the winner of the first prize the jury says:

The winner of the third prize is being awarded for a project that focuses on energy efficiency by combining data exchange in an innovative way, including a feedback system on energy meters, as well as quantifying the expectations to the energy saving. Further on, the project is recognizing, and emphasizing, the importance of human factor with the involvement of the employees. The resistance towards the potential feeling of surveillance from the employees has been met with a comprehensive process integrated into the company process, involving internal awareness campaigns and cooperation with the unions.

The Jury especially recognizes the holistic approach of this innovative energy saving project – where the understanding of the human dimension next to technology has been given highest priority.

Congratulations to NSB!

- and the project "Energy Measurement and Management in NSB", represented by Andreas Hægstad and Jan Vetle Moen, NSB.