UIC Sustainability Awards

Appraisal of the Jury for the UIC Sustainability Awards 2010

The aim of the UIC Sustainability Awards is to give visibility to and reward excellence, ground breaking projects and the big efforts made within the rail sector to continuously improve its sustainability performance.

The Awards was introduced at the 10th anniversary of the UIC Sustainability Conference in September 2008 in London and this is second time the UIC Sustainability Awards will award projects for their contribution towards more sustainable railways. Nearly 30 high-level papers from all over the world have been competing for this second round of the UIC Sustainability Awards, and they have been giving the international independent Jury a hard challenge. Four papers have been awarded with the UIC Sustainability Awards.

The members of the Jury of the UIC Sustainability Awards 2010 have been:
Martina Otto, Head of Policy Unit Energy Branch, United Nations Environment Programme
Peder Jensen, Acting Head of Air and Climate Change Programme Head of Energy and
Transport Group, European Environment Agency
Holger Dalkmann, Programme Director Sustainable Transport and Climate Change,

Second Prize

About the winner of the first prize the jury says:

Transport Research Laboratory (TRL)

With this project the winner of the second prize approaches a key challenge for rail as a "green" transport mode: Rail is as green as the energy fed into the system. The project has been conducted in an impressive way, including both freight and passenger transport, and by involving a wide range of businesses and through cooperation with media. The company is increasing the share of renewable energy in its energy mix with independent monitoring.

The Jury emphasizes that this is a project responding to the climate change combat with a high degree of transferability. Further, on the Jury takes notice of that nuclear is not part of the carbon free energy package.

Congratulations to DB AG!

- and the project "Eco Plus – CO2-free rail transports in Germany" represented by Petra Peres, DB Schenker Rail and Klaus Vestner, Deutsche Bahn Passenger Transport.