

Appraisal of the Jury for the UIC Sustainability Awards 2010

The aim of the UIC Sustainability Awards is to give visibility to and reward excellence, ground breaking projects and the big efforts made within the rail sector to continuously improve its sustainability performance.

The Awards was introduced at the 10th anniversary of the UIC Sustainability Conference in September 2008 in London and this is second time the UIC Sustainability Awards will award projects for their contribution towards more sustainable railways. Nearly 30 high-level papers from all over the world have been competing for this second round of the UIC Sustainability Awards, and they have been giving the international independent Jury a hard challenge. Four papers have been awarded with the UIC Sustainability Awards.

The members of the Jury of the UIC Sustainability Awards 2010 have been: Martina Otto, Head of Policy Unit Energy Branch, United Nations Environment Programme Peder Jensen, Acting Head of Air and Climate Change Programme Head of Energy and Transport Group, European Environment Agency Holger Dalkmann, Programme Director Sustainable Transport and Climate Change,

Transport Research Laboratory (TRL)

First Prize

About the winner of the first prize the jury says:

With this strategy, the winner shows the broadest and most comprehensive approach to the overall activities with ambitious targets. The strategy has been approved by the Executive Board, and thus the winner has taken the concept of responsible business to a new level by bringing sustainability thinking into the heart of the organisation. The company has made a measurable sustainability concept – including all three dimensions of sustainable development – as the basis for strategic development of the organisation. The strategy is transparent, has clear objectives and includes quantified expectations for 2015 and a process orientated approach that is integrated into the company structure.

This is a strategy that paves the way also for other railways. The Jury therefore urges the winner to widely share its experiences and results.

The worthy winner of the first prize of the UIC Sustainability Awards 2010: Congratulations to SBB

and the project "SBB's Engagement for Sustainable Mobility: Taking the Next Step", represented by Rémy Chrétien, Head of Rail Environmental Center.